Arjen Hooiveld MSc.

Partner, European patent attorney, Dutch patent attorney

Arjen Hooiveld

Computer technology, physics, medical technology, mechanical engineering

Arjen Hooiveld is a Dutch and European patent attorney and partner at Arnold & Siedsma since 1997. He is based at the firm’s Amsterdam office. Arjen specializes in patents, including grant procedures, infringement advice and conducting opposition and appeal proceedings at the Dutch and European Patent Offices. Arjen's practice also consists of litigating in the field of patents, together with attorneys at law, both in the Netherlands (at first instance and on appeal) and abroad.

Arjen advises foreign multinationals on European patent disputes, such as Nikon versus ASML, Trico/Tenneco versus Valeo and Kawasaki versus ThyssenKrupp. As head of the Japan desk at Arnold & Siedsma, he focuses on advising and assisting Japanese companies with their European patent applications.

He also assists Dutch and Belgian companies in granting procedures and patent litigation, in particular in the fields of automotive, biomedical devices, food, agriculture, packaging, optics and concrete products.

Arjen is a member of EPI, AIPPI, UNION, LES and FICPI. Further, Arjen is a member of the Dutch Disciplinary Committee deciding on Dutch disciplinary matters, as well as a member of the Disciplinary Board deciding on appeals in cases relating to the European qualifying examination for professional representatives before the EPO and in cases concerning breaches of their Rules of Professional Conduct.

What others say about Arjen:
Critical and driven, with a sense of humour

Employment history:

1984 - 1986: Trainee patent attorney at Philips
1986 - 1997: Patent attorney at Trenité (partner 1991-1997)
1997 - present: Patent attorney and partner at Arnold & Siedsma
1984: University of Amsterdam, mathematics and physics
2004: Open University, Dutch law
Outside activities and memberships:
Institute of Patent Attorneys; EPI; AIPPI; UNION; LES; BMM; Chairman of the Supervisory Board; member of the Disciplinary Committee

Telephone: +31 20 6444000